JVW Crowned 2019 Sasol League National Champions

JVW, winners of the Sasol League championships

Gauteng based JVW Football Club were crowned the 2019 champions of the Sasol League National Championships on Sunday afternoon, after beating Limpopo’s Ma-Indies 2-0 in the final which took place in Tsakane, Ekurhuleni.

First half goals from Gabriel Salgado and Nicole Irwin gave JVW the win and the huge prize money of R200 000 and a spot in the 2020 SAFA Women’s National League, while silver medallists Ma-Indies FC will walk away with R100 000 and also a spot in the National Women’s League.

“We are very happy for this title and I want to congratulate my players for their display and the passion, hunger and resilience they showed throughout the tournament.

“I believe those attributes is what won us this tournament. We really wanted to qualify for the SAFA Women’s National League. That is where these players belong; top flight football,” said Ciara Picco, Head Coach of JVW.

Ma-Indies captain and Banyana Banyana left back Lebogang Ramalepe was named Player of the Tournament, while Banele Madondo from Sunflower WFC was named Young Player of the Tournament.

Neliswa Luthuli from Sunflower WFC walked away with top goal scorer of the tournament with 13 goals. Yolula Tsawe won goalkeeper of after conceding the least goals of the tournament for JVW.

Sunflower WFC came third after winning 16-0 against Royal Wizards in the 3rd/4th place playoff. They walk away with R60 000